Dr Frene Ginwala

Frene Ginwala is a journalist, editor, lecturer, lawyer, radio programme producer, ANC member, politician and former speaker of the National Assembly of South Africa.

Frene currently holds and has held a variety of posts in many groups and organisations, some of which include the following:

  • Chairperson – Archives Committee, ANC
  • Chairperson – Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (Africa)
  • Chairperson – International Parliamentary Union (SA)
  • Lecturer – Universities and Institutions in a number of countries
  • Founding Member and National Convener – Women’s National Coalition
  • Chairperson – Southern African Development Community Parliamentary Forum
  • Representative – Science and Technology Initiative, ANC
  • Member – Constitutional Committee: Constitutional Assembly
  • Chairperson – Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (SA)
  • Spokesperson – ANC (United Kingdom)
  • Member – ANC National Working Committee
  • Chairperson – Commission responsible for Retrieval and Deposit of ANC Archives
  • Barrister-at-Law – Inner Temple
  • Member – ANC National Executive Committee
  • Co-Chairperson – Global Coalition for Africa
  • Member of Parliament – National Assembly, ANC (1994 to 2004)
  • Speaker – Parliament of South Africa (1994 to 2004)
  • Deputy Head – Commission for Emancipation of Women, ANC (1992 to 1994)
  • Secretariat – Mr Mandela’s Office (1991 to 1994)
  • Head – Research Department, ANC (1991 to 1994)
  • Managing Editor – ‘The Standard’ and ‘Sunday News’ (Tanzania) (1969)

Frene has a lengthy list of qualifications which includes Doctor of Philosophy (University of Oxford), Bachelor of Law (Barrister-at-Law Inner Temple), Honorary Doctor of Laws (University of KwaZulu-Natal, University of Cape Town and University of Connecticut USA), Honorary Bachelor of Arts (Rhodes University) and Honorary Technical Doctorate (Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University).

Among the award she has received are the Global Award for Outstanding Contribution for Promotion of Human Rights and Democracy from the Priyadarshni Academy, India; the Presidential Award from the Black Management Forum; the Woman of the Year 2000 from the Law Faculty, UP and an Honorary Fellow from Linacre College.